Welcome on piarc.org!

PIARC (World Road Association), founded in 1909 and comprising 125 member governments from all over the world, is the global forum for exchange of knowledge and experience on roads, road transport policies and practices. With consultative status to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, the Association is contributing to a stable and sustainable global development of the road and transport sector.

This site uses cookies to optimize its operation. They allow you to securely access your personal space and download our publications. You accept their use by clicking on the "Accept" button.

PIARC Prizes: Who are the eight 2023 winners?

Published on 16 January 2024.

At the 27th World Road Congress in Prague, eight authors received awards for their papers.

At the World Road Congress held in Prague from 2 to 6 October 2023, PIARC awarded prizes for the most outstanding papers in eight different categories.

The aim of the PIARC Prizes is to encourage innovation, recognise professional competence, highlight topics of particular interest, promote the interests of developing countries and encourage long-term thinking about the future of transport systems.

As part of the 27th World Road Congress, a major call for papers was launched on 49 themes that complemented the themes of the Technical Committees. More than 700 authors responded to this call and presented their work during the Congress. Eight authors were awarded a PIARC prize for the best papers in each of the following categories:

  • Young Professionals (under 35), sponsored by Canada-Québec
  • Authors from LMICs (low- and middle-income countries), sponsored by Japan
  • Road Design, Construction, Maintenance and Operation, sponsored by Germany
  • Road Safety, sponsored by the United States
  • Climate Change and Resilience, sponsored by Australia and New Zealand
  • Sustainable Mobility, sponsored by Spain
  • Best Innovation, sponsored by Belgium
  • Organisation and Administration, sponsored by South Korea

The international jury was made up of the General Secretariat, the Communications Commission, the PIARC Strategic Plan Commission and a representative from each country sponsoring an award: Juan Pedro Fernández (Spain), Etienne Willam (Belgium), Whe Kyoung Kim (South Korea), Geoff Allan, Jim Betts and Nicole Rosie (Australia and New Zealand), Yasuhiro Ishihara (Japan), Michael Puschel (Germany), Frédéric Pellerin (Canada-Quebec) and Gloria Shepherd (United States).

The winners

The winners were presented with their prizes by the Chair of PIARC's Communications Commission, Claudine Tremblay, and by the Awards' partners, in front of thousands of delegates at the Prague Congress Centre.

  • Claudine Tremblay

  • Ana Blanco

  • Robert Heywood

  • Laura Crespo

  • Shoichi Suzuki

  • Jose-Alfonso Balbuena-Cruz

  • Yamazaki Mitsuru

  • Fernanda Oliveira De Sousa

  • Tetsuri Kaji

>> Watch the interviews with the winners and partners of the Prizes!

Further information: